Guard Dog Gwen

Some very exciting things have happened lately!  One of which made me so glad to be a dog owner and also quite proud of my little Gwen.

A couple nights ago Gwen and I were sitting in the living room minding our own business, I on the couch she on the rug by the door, when there was a noise on my front porch.  I heard a creak about the same time Gwen reacted to it.  At 11:30 at night, a creaking sound on your front porch step is not a sound you want to be hearing…  Guard Dog Gwen sounded the alarm!

I got up off my comfy perch on the sofa to assess the situation.  I flipped on the lights and saw that there was a shirtless, white male on my front porch and he was backing down the stairs.  He was probably in his twenties and judging by his state of undress in the cold he was most likely under the influence of something.  He backed off my porch and then went around the front of my house in my yard.  At that point I lost sight of him and had already started dialing 911.  I think it took me maybe 2 seconds to decide what to do, and now that I think back on the incident I don’t know when or where I got the phone from since I used our landline phone (thank God for those!) and I don’t remember bringing it to the living room…

The 911 dispatcher sent a police officer out to my house and she stayed on the line with me until he got here.  She asked if I was armed (yes), what kind of weapon I had, if there was anyone else in the house (Gwen), and where I was in the house.  She also asked me what my phone number was which I was unable to say since in the moment I totally forgot our home phone since we rarely use it and never give out that number anyways.  Lucky enough that caller ID was invented ages ago so she had my number on her screen. 🙂

Once the officer was in the area, the dispatcher told me to secure my weapon — don’t need any itchy trigger fingers around the Boys in Blue, now do we? (not that I have an itchy trigger finger!) — and the officer would make contact once he had a look around.  Though I am pretty sure the officer’s uniform was brown but if it were “the boys in brown” that would be referring to UPS.  Anyways.  The officer asked me what happened after letting me put Gwen in her crate as I had opened the door holding a dog in my arms.  I told him what we heard and saw and that Gwen had barked her head off until she got the sign for quiet, and he said he would have a look around the house to make sure no one was around.  At which point I asked if it was safe if I took my dog out to go potty while the officer was still there.  As odd of a request I am sure he has probably heard worse.  At least that is what I keep telling myself.

I was quite shaken by the whole experience.  Of course once Gwen had pottied and the officer left — he assured me that there would be a cop in the area patrolling a couple more times tonight — I was left to deal with the after affects of the adrenaline that was still coursing through my body.  Meaning, calling my parents and not being able to sleep.  My dad goes to bed before 9:00 every night, so it is best not to call really late, and by this time it was well after midnight…  I had no choice but to call and recap everything that had happened.

I am just really glad that I have a dog and a gun.  They help me sleep better at night, though after something like this getting to sleep is a little more difficult.  And for the record, in case you are new to  GwendolynRose, I do have my Concealed Carry Permit, I do shoot very well, and I won’t be a victim.  Calling the cops is always going to be the right thing to do, but in that time between calling them and them actually arriving on scene it is always nice to have a backup plan (weapon) so as to not become victim and another statistic.

I just want to make a quick reference to a website/facebook page that I follow, it’s called The Well Armed Woman.  They also have a blog.  Some of the following pictures I’ve borrowed from their facebook page as well as just plain ol’ google images.  This page, or rather group of women, advocates the education of women and girls in the use and safety of firearms for personal defense as well as just recreational shooting.  I don’t remember how I came across this page but have found it very interesting.

The following are some dog and gun related images I found that I couldn’t figure out how to use in this post but still wished to include them. 🙂

Cute!

Just a little look at what kind of damage the different caliber bullets make without any blood or gore.

 

8 thoughts on “Guard Dog Gwen

  1. How scary! Glad you are well armed & guarded. I always say that the racking of a shotgun is a good deterrent, too! A very recognizable sound that most people know.

    • That’s what my husband says too! He says it is an universal sound. Though I don’t have a shotgun…I’m a rifle/pistol person. Though he may be getting one for me after he returns.

  2. That is scary! I know Katie and Emma are always watching out for anything out of the ordinary. If I hear an odd sound at night the first thing I do is check the dogs and cats to see if they are disturbed or not, if not then I go back to sleep, but if they are awake and listening then I go investigate with them. They are wonderful protectors and most prowlers don’t want to break in with a dog or two barking and howling.

    • Yes, I love how alert Gwen is and that her bark is bigger than she is! I think this may be the “excuse” that my husband was looking for to “convince me” to get another dog. 😉 More barking = more deterring?

    • Most definitely! I liked those signs I found (don’t step on the watch dog) but figured I wouldn’t want to put it outside the house bc I wouldn’t want any baddie to know that my dog really wasn’t that big. Big dogs in little dog bodies! 🙂

  3. Hi!

    It’s me again, Tammy the Marketing Coordinator at The Uncommon Dog. We just finished another informative info-graphic that I thought you might be interested in. It’s titled “How Dogs Became Our Best Friends!”.

    If you love dogs, like we do, then you’ll love this story. Recent scientific breakthroughs have increased our understanding about how dogs have come to play such an integral part of our daily lives. This fun and engaging info-graphic tells that story in a way that we hope makes it accessible and interesting to everyone.

    If you would like to share this info-graphic with your readers, please feel free to do so. You can find the info-graphic here: http://www.theuncommondog.com/how-dogs-became-our-best-friends.aspx Again, all we ask in return is that you link back to TheUncommonDog.com, in some way, from your post.

    Also, definitely let me know if you do decide to post it because we’d be happy to spread the word again about the blog post by linking to it from our Facebook, Twitter, and Google+ pages.

    If you’d like your e-mail removed from our mailing list, please let us know.

    Big Tail Wag!
    Tammy Sexton
    Marketing Coordinator

Leave a Reply

