Catnip for Cockroaches

Awhile back I did a post about how people say the dumbest things, think Bill Cosby’s show Kids Say the Darnedest Things, and lately I have been thinking of doing something similar.  Last time it was about all the things that people say about my dog and her stature.  This time it will be different.  This time, it is not people doing or saying stupid things, unlike last time, rather it is two things that people said, one of which was funny and the other was intriguing.

The best think that I think I’ve heard lately is this:  A younger guy came in towards the end of the night the other day and he bought some doggie diapers.  I asked him if he found what he was looking for, you know the usual cashier mumbo jumbo.  He said yeah and “my pup just became a lady.”  So it was new territory for him buying doggie diapers.  I thought it was funny and tried real hard not to laugh, I just smiled instead.  (I don’t want to offend people!)  I realized when I gave him his receipt that he was most likely embarrassed since his face looked more flushed since he’d been at the register.  Sounds like when a guy has to go to the store to purchase lady products for their woman.  Haha.  (No matter how you try to word that it always sounds awkward.)

One of my good friends from college had two labs, a male and a female, both of which were unaltered so I’d heard plenty of stories from her about how her dog was going into heat again and how annoying it was.  Things like this make me SO glad that we got Gwen spayed!  I do not want to have to deal with all that nonsense.  The only regret I have is not having the ability to show her since she is spayed.  In the long run she will be healthier and happier and it will make her humans happier not having to deal with all that.  Males tend to roam and females are prone to infections; spay or neuter your pets and help prevent animal overpopulation!  And now a word from Bob Barker!

 

Catnip for Cockroaches:

A customer came in looking to buy some catnip.  He wasn’t buying it for a cat but rather for cockroaches.  He said they couldn’t stand the catnip.  Now I don’t know if this is true or not but it is certainly worth looking into.  According to this article by PETA (who I am not a fan of since they are the biggest bunch of hypocrites minus the gov’t, but that’s a whole other can of worms), cockroaches have feelings even though their brains are tiny.  PETA also says that according to some research, cockroaches may be capable of counting.  1. Why is anyone spending money to try and figure out if icky bugs can count?!   2. Cockroaches are NASTY and PESTS.  Kill them!  3. PETA is stupid.

Going for a more scientific approach, the Science Daily has an article about how the old wives tale of putting catnip around the house keeps the cockroaches at bay.  Scientists have found that cockroaches are indeed repelled by catnip.  There are two forms of a chemical called nepetalactone which are found in the plant, this chemical is said to be what repelled the cockroaches.  The hope is that this finding could lead to new developments in natural insect repellents.  If people could spray this chemical along baseboards and walls then there would be the potential to keep cockroaches out of their walls and homes.

At first I was skeptical of what this customer told me but I figured I would check it out when I got home.  When the guy was leaving he told me to “take a hint and try it.”  Sometimes you never know when or where you are going to find things.

I do recommend checking out those two articles.  The PETA one is a short easy read, and the Science Daily isn’t too bad either.

Leave a Reply

