O Crickets, why did I not think of you?!

This is all I feel like doing today:  watching cat videos.  (Watch the video!) 🙂

Be advised, this is NOT a dog post.  If you are only interested in my Corgi then please ignore today’s post.  Minus this following paragraph in blue which I found floating around Facebook and have heard it a few times on other forums.  I figure I should do my part and let others know, even if it only reaches one or two people then that is more than previously knew, right?

FOOD RECALL ALERT! Nestle Purina Petcare Company announced it will recall their Waggin’ Train and Canyon Creek Ranch dog treat brands and Delmonte announced it will recall its Milo’s Chicken Jerky Treats and Chicken Grillers because of residues of an undisclosed antibiotic. Please click LIKE, SHARE and email to your network to spread the word.

My first day of work consisted of training (of course) on the computer.  Five hours of training modules.  My neck and eyes hurt so bad by the time I was done with it.  They were all things about how to treat the customer, how to handle the animals, procedures, etc.  At first it was totally overwhelming since I came to the belated conclusion of “I’m going to have to talk to people and HELP them! AND be nice about it at the same time!!!”  But once I got to the part about the animals I was a bit more relaxed.  I have a lot to learn about the different animals and the different kinds of nutrition and things like that but I’ll get it eventually, I hope.

On my way home it dawned on me:  I am probably going to have to handle the reptiles!  After my initial shock I realized I could do that since I want bearded dragons one day and I have touched snakes before.  The part that I can’t get over is the feeding them part.  Do you know what they eat?  This is something that I didn’t think of when I applied…they eat CRICKETS!  Do you know what I hate?  BUGS & SPIDERS!  So I will most likely have to give these critters crickets to eat and then there is the little issue of the cricket box, you know the big one where they keep full of crickets so people can buy them to feed to their pets.  That one.  I dread the day when I will be the one scooping out the crickets!  Ugh!

Don’t even get me started about the tarantulas!  Yes, they sell tarantulas.  Or hissing cockroaches, though I’m not sure if this place sells them, some places do!

Andrew wants frogs but I said no since they eat crickets and I will NOT have BUGS in my house!  I told Andrew’s mother about the crickets and she said they weren’t that bad since Andrew had frogs as a kid and that only a few crickets ever escaped.  Andrew has admitted that he set them free in the house.  My response was that that is a few too many!

Since I am already off topic, I want a turtle or a hedgehog next!  I have wanted a hedgehog for a VERY long time but my parents always told me no.  Andrew is okay with both of these creatures and agrees that one day in the semi-near future I can get one of these!  As long as we are in a state that allows for hedgehogs — they are illegal in some states/cities since they are considered “exotic pets.”

Apart from the dark realization I came to on my drive home, the training things were interesting.  Talked about the proper way to handle tame and untame birds, all the small animals, what to look for in a healthy animal (so as to be able to recognize an unhealthy or injured animal easier) and also the procedures for some things animal related.  What I didn’t get very well were the parts about the 3 types of questions:  open-ended, close-ended, and leading questions.  It was like Psychology 105 (Intro to Psychology) all over again.  Supposed to be an easy-A class yet it was one of my most confusing and hardest ones I took.  Geology, that was more my speed for the sciences!  Something concrete and tangible and not an airy idea.

Andrew “officially” started his new shift schedule for work.  Right now it is basically a graveyard shift.  Sucks.  Not because he’s gone at night but because he has to sleep during the day!  How am I supposed to keep Gwen and myself quiet for at least 7 hours?!  I don’t do hardly anything quietly or without turning on lights everywhere!  Gwen is tearing something up right now and that is keeping her quiet.  I have considered going to the gym but that would require finding gym clothes — not really a quiet activity.  What am I supposed to do all day?!  I think I will go shopping for another pair of pants for work but then that leaves Gwen home (basically alone) to make noise and be a pain.

I don’t have a schedule yet for when I will be working, but since I am a part-time employee I hope it won’t be too horrible!  Oh well, I am glad to at least have a purpose again.  Being purposeless is a horrible state to be in!  Being a housewife was not purpose enough for me and it was horrible.  I don’t see how some people do it!  Though to be sure, those people probably enjoy it, I just found it entirely too wearisome (boring and lonely).

Leave a Reply

