Alligators, Dolphins, Corgis, oh my!

I hope that everyone had a very Happy New Year!  Since I have returned home from my last trip to WA, I feel like I have been going and going nonstop and it feels like that trip was ages ago! (I got back on Sun!)  Today, I refused to get out of bed to go to the gym.

Yesterday, we drove up to Myrtle Beach to go to the Bass Pro Shop up there.  That was a 2.5 hr drive just to get there, and I think we spent about an hour or two there before we headed back.  While we were there we ate at the BPS’s restaurant (Islamorada) where we had Alligator and Dolphin!  We’ve both had Alligator before at the Bass Pro in Independence, MO but this was our first time (at least mine) trying Dolphin.  It was really good!  I don’t like fish (except catfish fillets and occasionally some fish & chips) and I was glad that dolphin did not taste like fish!  It reminded me of a fish fillet but then also like chicken but didn’t taste anything like chicken.  Either way it was good. 🙂

The whole reason I told that story was to say that on our way up to MB we saw a bunch of cop cars in front of some apartments and  when we headed back home about an hour and a half later there were even more cop cars and the Hwy was blocked and the cops were forcing everyone to detour around.  There were even TV crews there.  I said that it must have had something to do with guns or dead bodies, because why else would they block of the road like that, for there to be news cameras and no fire trucks.  Sure enough it was a “shots fired” incident and some guy was shooting at people out a window.  Here’s the news article for it!

Okay, now on to the corgi business!  Gwen is a good little guard dog!  Today while Andrew was getting ready for work and I was putting away Christmas decorations a random Comcast (our local sucky TV co.) guy just walked through our door!  Gwen went after him and I went after Gwen.  I wasn’t thinking “oh hey look a stranger just walked into my house!” no, I was thinking “my dog is going to escape and run into the road!”  Then the guy was like “am I in the wrong apartment?” I told him yes, he said he was looking for #9 and I told him it was upstairs (it’s really next door – oops).  He did apologize for walking into our apartment.  He was on the phone when it happened and I think he just wasn’t paying attention to which door he wanted.  The doors are next to each other.  He didn’t knock or anything just walked in and stopped still holding the door.  Normally our door is always locked but we had just come in from taking the dog out a couple of minutes ago and I’d forgotten to lock it.  Gwen kept barking at the door the whole time the Comcast guys were out there working on the neighbor’s TV!

I had put a post on Facebook saying that we had just had a random guy walk into our house but I took that down after a little while.  There were quite a few people saying that I needed to call that Company and complain and/or report the guy/incident.  Even get him fired!  I don’t think it is always necessary to raise a ruckus about something that is wrong.  It was an honest mistake and he apologized.  It is not like we would get anything out of calling to complain.  Andrew said he was lucky the guy didn’t get shot.  I think he is lucky he didn’t get bit!   No harm, no foul.

Gwen went to the dump with me today to take our Christmas tree to be recycled.  She tried to jump out the door when I got out — she is such a pain some days!  I don’t know if the garbage man picks up the trees outside of the dumpsters in apt complexes or not so I just made a trip to the dump myself.  There are a bunch of trees that people just dumped out by the dumpsters.  I know curbside customers can leave their trees there since they can leave yard waste out.  Apartment living sucks.

2 thoughts on “Alligators, Dolphins, Corgis, oh my!

  1. Hey there! This is Rebecca from DSF … I got locked out of my account and had to create a new one. I tried working with WordPress, but in the end, a new account was the easiest thing to do. Anyway, your little picture at the top of the page made my day!! Also, I’m wondering if Gwen naturally barks at the door? Miss Norma doesn’t bark at the door EVER, even when someone comes into our house. She only barks when we don’t let her run over to the new person to get petted! Haha. I’m wondering if it’s something that she’ll grow into!? Glad you didn’t have to shoot that dude!! I can’t believe that he just walked in!!

    • That sucks that you got locked out! I think Gwen grew into it because I don’t remember her doing it when she was smaller. I know she would bark at us sometimes when we would frustrate her (i.e. not do what SHE wanted). I think Christmas time mail deliveries must have awoken the “guard dog” in her. Maybe Norma will grow into it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

