Grouchy Gwen

Got home at midnight last night.  I currently have no concept of time, my internal clock is all messed up.  I feel like I should be doing things but there isn’t much to do.  One thing I could do is to unpack all the bags I brought back (thank goodness Southwest lets you check 2 bags for FREE!!!)  but I don’t really want to do that.  Back in WA I was almost constantly doing something or had some task to be done.  Now I’ve finished my tasks and am at a loss.  Dog doesn’t want to play with me, I don’t want to watch TV, and I need a break from reading.  What to do, what to do?

I’m not sure Gwen was happy to see me…I did wake her up when I got home.  She was asleep and didn’t want to come out of her box.

My parents sent some presents to their grand-dog.  Gwenie got a new Skinneeez toy and a Kong squeaky ball and a new pink leash!  The Skinneeez (yes, that is the brand name 🙂 ) is one of those stuffing-less toys with squeakers in it.  Her leash is hot pink with light pink polka dots.  It’s cute and even matches her collar.

Today she has been sort of indifferent to me.  She hangs around in the same room but doesn’t really want to acknowledge me unless it benefits her.  Much like a cat.  She has been so grouchy today!  I got her to run around for a little bit and then gave her some ice cubes to fish out of her water dish.  Had to put that in the kitchen because she was getting water all over the carpet…needless to say that the ice cubes got all over the floor too since she would bring them out into the living room once she “caught” them.  At least it made Gwen happy.  She was sticking her nose in the water and blowing bubbles!  Gwen likes to splash in her water bowl too (an almost daily occurrence).  It makes me think of a raccoon washing its hand like paws.  So I guess that would make Gwen a cat-dog-tasmanian devil-raccoon.  What a sight THAT would be!

Oh and we had a pillow fight!  I was trying to shoo Gwen out of the way with my pillow so I could sit on the couch and read for a bit but Gwen had other ideas.  She stood up on her hind legs and jumped at the pillow.  So I swung it (nicely, don’t worry!) at her again.  She got more pushy so we did this for about ten minutes before she decided to go play with her toy box.  She even launched herself off the couch at this dang pillow a couple of times.  Corgis are tough little dogs!

I think she must have grown in the week I was gone!  She looks slightly taller and slimmer.  With her lack of activity this week I don’t think she would be getting any slimmer.  She looks good, I think, because when I left she was getting a little chunky.

Well, it is puppy dinner time now and she is laying by the door looking pitiful.  Apparently I am falling behind in my duties as the Corgi’s personal slave….

Leave a Reply

