Pumpkins and Bugs

2 Days ago, on Saturday, Gwen turned 6 months old!!!  Yay!  My little puppy is getting big!  We were just talking about her the other day, reminising on when she was tiny and could fit underneath the shelf on the coffee table and she was shorter than my arm.  Now she gets stuck at her shoulders and she is about 3 times longer than when we got her!

Every time we take Gwen outside she chases leaves.  It is so  windy here right now!  Well, I guess it could be worse.  We didn’t get hit with that hurricane, Sandy, but it did send a little rain and wind our way.  From what I’ve heard, Charleston is pretty lucky when it comes to the paths of these hurricanes.  This area is kind of tucked back a little and not really in the normal path of the hurricanes, as I understand it, so it usually doesn’t get hit bad.

Gwyndolyn was chasing a fly that was inside here earlier.  She was hopping all over the couch trying to catch that thing!  She watched it go back and forth and all around for awhile.  Then she decided that I was in her way and started to jump on me trying to get it.  She never caught Mr. Fly but she did catch a moth last night inside and the other day she caught another moth when we went outside for our pre-dinner potty break.

We carved pumpkins last night!  We started a bit late so we didn’t finish them until it was past 9 pm then we ran out and bought some candles before the stores closed.  We’d bought 3 pumpkins (1 for Gwen of course!) but only had time to carve 2.  So hers is just sitting outside our door with the carved ones.

After cleaning up all the pumpkin guts and scouring the kitchen, we headed to bed.  It was almost midnight by then.  I went into the bathroom and closed the door.  Guess what was behind the door.  A palmetto bug!  Also known as a cockroach!!! Ugh!  It was so nasty!  I jumped up on the tub and started screaming for TK, who has THE  slowest reaction time e-v-e-r!!  He really needs to work on that.  The roach scuttled down the wall and out under the door.  I couldn’t get out of the bathroom fast enough!  TK said it went under one of the bookcases in the office.  He said he couldn’t get it out so I said vacuum it out!  So he did and then he claimed that he sucked it up and it was dead.  I was scared to sleep.  I didn’t believe him.  So I called my mom.  She of course yelled at me for calling so late over a bug.  The first time I saw a cockroach I called her and since it was 7am here it was 4am there.  She did not like being woken up.  At least she was awake this time.

Before we went to sleep I told TK to empty the vacuum in the morning because there was no way in hell that I was going to do it.  This morning he took care of it while Gwen and I sat on the couch.  The cockroach was indeed in the vacuum container BUT it was still alive!  Andrew took it outside and smashed it with a shoe.  I am so glad he was home to kill that nasty bug!

In the aftermath of the most recent cockroach incident I have found something that I am even more terrified of than spiders:  cockroaches!

Back to the pumpkins.  We did Angry Bird pumpkins!  Andrew’s is the yellow bird and mine was supposed to be 2 of the 3 little blue birdies.  Mine got messed up when I was trying to cut it out so it I made it look more like a face by adding a “mouth” beneath the birds.  The “mouth” was supposed to be the things that the birds were flying over.  Andrew’s turned out really good.  Mine…eh…

Andrew complains and whines more when he’s doing pumpkins, but I guess he did a better job than me, the one who didn’t say anything except “I can’t get the tape to stick!”

As for other autumnal activities, I roasted the pumpkin seeds today.  I think I did a pretty good job too. 🙂

TK let a pen go through the wash in his uniforms.  Yeah…  I know my mother always say “you’ve got to check the pockets before you stick it in the wash” but you know…  So this pen went into the wash and ended up in the dryer and pretty much exploded.  There was ink everywhere!  I googled how to get rid of the ink and the one that showed up the most was to use nail polish remover.  So I did.  Got the majority of it out and so now the inside of the dryer is just a shade of light blue.  Better than it was.  Now the dryer is airing out.  I’m just afraid to use the dryer again right now.  Waiting til Andrew gets home to see about it.  He was a Chemistry major after all.  I don’t want an exploding dryer…good reason to NOT do laundry today!

Leave a Reply

