Worms, Subs, Nugget and Blog Bits

Gwen’s Weekend

Gwen has been asleep all afternoon.  I put her in her bed so I could make a run to the store and she barely woke up.  I came home and she walked out and crawled up onto her favorite sleeping space (on the shelf under the coffee table).  I don’t think she feels very well still.  She hasn’t felt very well this weekend since we realized she was a little wormy…when I say wormy I mean the poor thing had worms!  [*Sidenote:  She is moaning/closed mouth howling in her sleep.  It is both cute and pathetic at the same time.  Poor baby!]  I called the vet and they said to describe them and I did.  The lady said it sounded like tapeworms.  I thought, “great just what our growing pup needs!”  The lady said to bring her by and they would have some wormer ready for her.

I told Andrew to look up how she could have picked up a tapeworm.  The result of his research was an infected flea.  (Fleas are problematic here and Gwen hasn’t taken kindly to them…I have done what I can to keep them away and her comfortable.)  The other ways to pick up a tapeworm were highly unlikely for her.  We picked up her wormer and gave it to her when we got home.  She kind of just slept it all off — we don’t think she felt very good for a couple days since it takes like 24-36 hrs for it to kill them wormies.  I think we were lucky enough to catch her little worm infestation before it actually did become that:  an infestation.

This was all on Saturday.  After we took her to the park, an adventure in itself….

We got up early, fed puppy early and headed to the park after she’d had time to digest a little.  Well that also coincided with normal post breakfast nappy time.  But Gwen loves the park!  So we headed downtown to take her to the Battery park.  As we were heading towards Charleston traffic slowed. Apparently a car had caught fire on the freeway.  I had never seen a car on fire before!  I have seen RVs and a Semi but never a car!  It was some SUV that was turned the wrong direction (must have crashed) and ablaze.  We were redirected to Mount Pleasant (nearest exit).  We decided to go see if we could find a park to take Gwen to anyways.

Right after we crossed the Ravenel Bridge (Google it, it looks cool) and entered Mount Pleasant we turned off onto Patriots Point.  There is a bunch of stuff there that we decided we would go check out someday without puppy (museumy type things).  We got out and went to see this big submarine memorial.  It was pretty neat.  There is a submarine made out of black cinder-blocks and metal and around it is a walkway.  The whole thing is a memorial to the Cold War era submarines.  I am having a difficult time trying to describe the memorial, so if you are interested, check out the following link and at least look at the pictures.  http://www.patriotspoint.org/explore_museum/cold_war_memorial/

After walking around the memorial at Patriots Point park, we decided we would head to the Battery.  Gwen had not gotten to really play since we only walked on a path.  By the time we parked and walked to the park she was starting to slow down.  So we kept our trip short and walked across the park before heading back to the truck.  We got home and Gwen drank water and went to sleep. She got the rest of the afternoon to sleep while the humans had the afternoon to themselves.  We (the humans) went out and got the cars (both!) washed! (exciting I know.)

Sunday evening we took Gwenie out for her long walk and she met 3 new dogs!  They were all off leash and I wish that I could trust her off leash because there was a young pup named Roxy that was playing with Gwen and I would have loved to see them run in the field together!  The dogs’ owner came up and we talked to them while the puppies played.  Oh! While I am on this subject, Gwen had a run in with Nugget the doxy that lives a couple doors down from us.  Nugget and Gwen have met before but this Nugget decided to instill some wisdom upon Gwen.  Nugget (she is about 4 I think the guy said?) asserted her dominance and Gwen was like whoa!  It was funny to watch since they are both about the same size.  Gwen hasn’t really come across any dogs that really pay attention to her.  The first was Nugget.

I can’t wait until Gwen meets Auntie Dayzee and Cousin Bella. 🙂  They are both labs.  Not sure how Great-Uncle Nemo (poodle) will put up with crazy corgi.

Blog Bits

So as I am doing this blog, I have started to find that there are a lot of blogs out there that people have dedicated to their Corgis or at least post about their Corgis a lot!  I have 3 Favorites!  They are as follows (click on the names to be directed to the other blogs!):

These are my top 3 favorites.  Check them out and you can meet Gimli, Gibson, and Ty & Eve.  Ty and Eve (Puppy on a Roomba) also have their own Facebook pages where they post their own thoughts!  …I have considered making Gwen a Facebook page.  I mean I have, after all, made a page for my horse!  There is also of course The Daily Corgi which you must also check out!

 

ONE LAST THING!!! Today Gwen is exactly 4 months old!!!  — check out our new PitaPata Widget on the left side of the screen.  It tells Gwen’s exact age!  You can figure out your pet (or even your own) exact age if you go to the PitaPata webpage (Google it).  Pretty neat, I say! 😉

2 thoughts on “Worms, Subs, Nugget and Blog Bits

Leave a Reply

